From Me to You: Advice From a Senior

 

uconn

As my time at UConn is quickly coming to an end, I thought it would be useful to give some advice to the lucky ones who still have time left here at this amazing university. I could go on to tell you all of the things I wish I could have done, or all the things I still want to do before I walk across that stage and get my diploma, however if there is one thing I want all students to know, it is to make EVERY moment count.

For the juniors who are getting excited to have it be their final year, just know that this last year that lies ahead of you is the quickest one yet. There are so many incredible things to look forward to and while the future may seem scary, that’s only more of a reason to take advantage of every second you have left here.

When you don’t feel like going to that club meeting, go. When you don’t want to buy tickets to that football or basketball game, do it anyway. If you are a commuter or off-campus student and all you want to do is go home, stay on campus and engage with other students as much as possible. Making every moment count means taking advantage of the opportunities that are lying right in front of you as much as you possibly can.

While I am ready to be done with schoolwork for good, nothing compares to my experience here at UConn. Remembering who I was when I first got here and reflecting on who I am right now is incredible. The memories I have made here have truly changed me for the better and I’m sure almost every senior can relate. While the future is uncertain, I just have to keep reminding myself that the best is yet to come.

Decorated-cap-with-fish-eye-lens

Regardless if you are finishing up your freshman year or your first year as a graduate student, I hope that reading this will convince you to make every single moment count as a UConn student, because in a blink of an eye it will all be over.

 

Jillian Collins

Administrative Assistant

Off-Campus Student Services

Photo Credit

 

 

Leave a Reply

